Skip to content

Rick & Bubba’s Big Honkin’ Book of Grub

March 23, 2010

I was excited to see a cookbook up for review.  I love cookbooks and go to the library a lot to see what new cookbooks are in, so I was anticipating this book to arrive.  I love trying new recipes.  When I bring home a new cookbook from the library, in the back of my head, I know there are a few “chapters” in the front meant for you to read….but I just jump to the recipes.  Well, understanding I’m receiving this cookbook to review, I thought it best I should start in the beginning and  read the “chapters”.  So I begin reading….and I keep reading and reading and reading….where are the recipes???

I was really disappointed when I realized this was more a commentary of these guys, Rick & Bubba’s view of food, eating and restaurants…with a few recipes scattered through out, then a small tidbit of a chapter with 15 recipes.

I had never heard of Rick & Bubba, but I learned they have a syndicated radio show to “help you get the most out of America’s favorite pastime – eating!”  So, as I found from reading this book, these guys love life and love to eat.  So much so, they have thrown out every healthy eating plan except one.  Their philosophy is “eat everything…only do it in moderation.”  Their favorite pastime is eating.  They frown upon fat-free, or choices that are more healthy.  A section on fried chicken, they comment “if God didn’t want us to eat it (the skin), then why’d he make it taste so good?”  And in the same section, “try to ignore all those medical reports and go ahead and eat it.”

As a mom, trying to raise kids to make wise food choices, as to avoid the battle with food addictions or weight problems down the road, I did not appreciate a book on making fun or even condoning making unwise food choices.  Understanding that some people have a problem with weight, taking the suggestions in this book  is not only unhealthy, but could be life threatening.  Also, the fact that these guys take Scripture to validate their lifestyle of the love of food & eating just doesn’t set right with me either. Jesus providing food for 5,000 people or even having a Last Supper is not justification that Jesus condones this eating style.  What happened to “your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit.”

This book was  a sore disappointment all the way around, sadly.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 7:05 am

    in total agreeance.

Leave a Reply

