Skip to content

Remember

May 4, 2010

Recently I’ve been forgetting a lot of things.  I’ll get a message about being somewhere at a certain time…I’ll think I know when to be there….then I’m wrong, 30 minutes off.  I used to laugh or shake my head at my husband when I would see him across the room talking to someone new…then a few minutes later I’d ask, “Now what were their names?”  He couldn’t tell me.  I laugh no longer, I’m forgetting things too.

This happens not only with names or times but also with the blessings of God.  How quickly I forget the things He has done in the past…or even what He is doing right now.  The distractions of the world are so loud, the pace of life is so fast….maybe this is why God says:

Be still, and know that I am God! – Psams 46:10

Now stand still and see the great thing the Lord will do before your eyes.

1 Samuel 12:16

Being still is something I have a hard time doing…but it is in those times that I can clear my mind, think more clearly and remember things more easily.  Also a tip I’ve gotten is to write things down or put them in my calendar.  With the latest technology, we can put dates or events into our phones and set reminders.  Reminders help us remember.  Along with numbers, names, appointments and all the other things you would expect to find on your calendar…what about putting in the things God has done in your life….set a reminder for a month later or a year later….that’s one tangible way of helping to remember.

Remember the miracles he has done, His wonders and decisions.

1 Chronicles 16:12

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

