Skip to content

Welcome Fall

September 23, 2010

Fall is one of my favorite seasons…favorite is a tie between Fall and Spring.  To me, fall is a refreshing, relaxing and renewing season.  There is relief from the heat and humidity, everything green (most everything) turns into magnificent golden colors, there are smells associated with fall like spice, and then there are things that you can only buy in the fall like pumpkins and mums.  It’s time to turn the air off and embrace the cooler fresh air, it’s time to break out the knitting, it’s time to take field trips to the farm and the pumpkin patch and it’s time to switch from iced tea to hot tea.  So today is the first official day of fall.

So, in honor of it being the first day of fall, I’ll share my most favorite recipe that includes pumpkin.  And being that you can only get pumpkin in the fall, I get so excited to make this because I can’t make it 9 months out of the year.  I believe I will be stockpiling canned pumpkin this year just so I can make these in July if I want.

CHOCOLATE CHIP PUMPKIN MUFFINS

DRY:

1 cup white flour  1 cup whole wheat flour    1/2 cup wheat germ    2 tsp. baking soda    1 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. salt     2 tsp. cinnamon     3/4 cup white sugar     1/2 cup brown sugar    1 cup chocolate chips

LIQUID:

1 cup vanilla yogurt (I use Stonyfield Fat Free French Vanilla)     4 eggs     1/3 cup water

2 cups 100% pumpkin (Libby’s 15 oz works)     1/2 cup applesauce

Preheat oven to 350….makes 24 regular sized muffins…spray muffin tins.  Mix all dry ingredients together, including chocolate chips….I’ve found that’s the secret for the chocolate chips to not stick or bake to the muffin tin…mix in with the flour.  In separate bowl, mix all liquid ingredients together.  Add the liquid to the dry ingredients and mix well.  Spoon into muffin tins and bake 18-20 minutes.  These are SUPER moist…so don’t over-bake, they will be done in 18-20 minutes.

I did find this recipe on Tasty Kitchen, but for the life of me I couldn’t find it on there, so I don’t know who to give credit to.  Check out Tasty Kitchen for more amazing recipes!

I did buy a pie pumpkin.  A canning, baking, sewing, knitting friend inspired me to make pumpkin puree from a real pumpkin instead of always buying canned…..so I will give it a try.  Anyone have any tips or recipes…I’d love to know.

Until next time….Happy Fall and Happy Baking 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
    • September 25, 2010 8:32 am

      Yeah- I saw that muffin recipe, but it’s not the same. Oh well, props to whoever came up with it 🙂

  1. Bri permalink
    September 29, 2010 7:18 am

    I am so waiting for an afternoon to bake so I can try these muffins. Kelly & I were just talking about them.
    I also have an EASY pumpking muffin recipie (I don’t puree my own muffins either). I found it on Sparkrecipies, I think,

    1 box spice cake or carrot cake
    1 small can of pumpkin
    Mix the cake mix & pumpkin (yeah thats it), add a little water to give it a less thick consistency.
    Bake 350 til done (I think about 25-35minutes)
    Before I bake them I throw in walnuts. They’re heavier, but filling for a quick breakfast!

Leave a Reply

